Back Into The Groove

I ran my first half marathon (first anything, actually) this past April. When I decided to train for the half, I had no idea what a physical, emotional, and spiritual journey it would be. And though I was fairly convinced I wouldn’t do another half marathon before I crossed that finish line, I knew that I would continue to run for general fitness.

Since then, however, I can count on one hand the times I’ve strapped on the Nikes and the Garmin and gone for a jog. The excuses for not doing so are countless and,well, just excuses. I’ve had a terrible time holding myself accountable and this morning I decided enough is enough. Training for another half feels a bit overwhelming at this moment, so I’ve chosen to take a baby step and go for a small, obtainable goal. I have signed up for a 5K that will take place on December 8, 2012.

No more putzing around; it’s time to get back in the groove!

“Never promise more than you can perform.“-  Publilius Syrus

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. You go, Blake!! As a couple of wise women told me recently, “You can do it!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

