Running Out of Love and Gratitude

Time is a precious commodity.  It is defined as the measurable period during which an action, process or condition exists or continues.  We measure time in intervals such as seconds, minutes, hours, years.  We measure time by important events that occur in our lives – anniversaries of births, weddings, graduations, deaths.

On April 24, 2002 an event occurred that forever changed my life; I lost my younger brother and only sibling to cystic fibrosis (CF).  It is difficult to believe that April 24, 2012 is the tenth anniversary of Andy’s passing.  This is not an anniversary to celebrate, but it is one that I feel is important to acknowledge.

For nearly ten years, family, friends, and many who never even knew Andy have honored his memory by supporting me and my walk team, Roo’s Crew, in the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation’s annual Nashville Great Strides Walk.  While Roo’s Crew will once again participate in the Nashville Great Strides Walk (*see event details below), I will be doing something different to acknowledge this anniversary and the incredible support we’ve received over all these years.  On Saturday, April 28, 2012, in tribute to Andy and as thanks to all who contribute to the CFF through Roo’s Crew, I will be running the half marathon portion of the Country Music Marathon.

One would think that, over time, it would get easier for me to ask for your support.  In fact, it is quite the opposite – especially in these tough economic times.  Through these many years, some have asked why I continue to be involved when CF is no longer something my family and I have to face every day.   The answer is simple:  I carry Andy’s legacy of hope and faith that we will see a cure for CF in our lifetime.  And I am overjoyed to say that this desire, this mission was tremendously validated in late January when the FDA approved the new drug Kalydeco®.    Please read more about Kalydeco® at www.cff.org

There are myriad reasons why you can feel good about contributing to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation; one being that nearly 90 cents of every dollar goes directly to research, education and care programs.  Whatever your reason and whatever the amount – for no amount is too big or too small – I would be tremendously honored by your support.  To make an easy online tax-deductible donation, please click the GREAT STRIDES widget in the right sidebar, then choose “CLICK TO DONATE”.

If you would like to join Roo’s Crew at the Nashville Great Strides walk, just follow that same link and click “JOIN MY TEAM”.

With love and gratitude,

Blake

* WHAT:  2012 Nashville Great Strides 

*WHEN:  Sunday, May 20, 2012 at 1:00 PM

*WHERE:  Bicentennial Capitol Mall State Park, Nashville, TN

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. wonderful, wonderful post, Blake. Thank you for sharing this. I’m so proud of you — for what you’ve done and what you’re doing. I know that you’ll kick ass in the marathon. ❤

    Reply
  2. Regina

     /  April 19, 2012

    Good Job Blake! You know you can count on our support, I know how much this marathon means to you and I know you will do Andy proud. Love you

    Reply
  3. Nedda

     /  April 20, 2012

    I stumbled upon your blog after a facebook friend shared your story. I’m very sorry for your loss. ❤ Your brother looks like an amazing person and an animal lover too – well, animal lovers are amazing people in my mind :). I think it's very special how you keep your brother's memory alive. I want to Thank you for continuing your fight against CF. I know you do it for your brother… but your efforts also help kids like my son Hunter (8 yrs old with CF). I've called him Roo since he was a baby, so the name of your team really caught my attention. I wish you luck on your fundraising efforts and your marathan. *hugs* sent your way from a mama praying and fundraising for a CF cure too ❤

    Reply
    • Nedda, I am so appreciative to those who have shared this post. I can’t thank you enough for taking the time to comment! Yes, Andy was pretty awesome, as far as little brothers go.
      😉 I have a feeling YOUR Roo is one cool dude as well! Rep. Ed Markey from Massachusetts says that CF stands for Courageous Fighters. I couldn’t agree more. We’re one big familiy and together, we WILL cure cystic fibrosis. Much love to Hunter, you and your family. ❤

      Reply

Leave a Reply

