Tribute to Andy

Cystic Fibrosis

It’s just two words strung together.  It’s a disease with a definition.  A diagnosis.  It’s all too common for CF to be relegated to mere terminology, allowing for discernible emotional distance.

Cystic Fibrosis

It’s something that happens to other people.  Not you.  Not your sister.  Not your spouse.  Not your brother.

But it happened to my brother, Andy.  He was diagnosed at age three.  With that diagnosis came the revelation that cystic fibrosis wasn’t just a bit of medical terminology.  It was real.  It was solid.  It wore my brother’s face.

Andy, however, knew better.  He did not let the disease define him.  He was a warrior, not a victim.  It is my dream that we find a cure for CF, but it is in my brother’s memory – in deference to the full life he lived in such a short time – that I strive to promote awareness and acquire funding for vital research.

Since Andy cannot tell his story in words, I will share it with you in pictures.

My deepest, heartfelt thanks to Antigone Rising for permission to use Borrowed Time,  to Ali Trotta for offering just the right words, and to each of you who join me and Roo’s Crew in the fight to eradicate CF once and for all.

Link to my Great Strides page:  http://www.cff.org/great_strides/BlakeLeyers

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Audra

     /  March 3, 2012

    I love your tribute to Andy. I know you will be glad to see him again one day…..

    Reply
  2. Sue Brown

     /  March 5, 2012

    Your brother definitely took a lot of love with him. A beautiful tribute to someone who seems to have packed a lot into a short time.

    Reply
  3. I love this Blake! So beautiful and awesome. Andy would love this. Made me cry but in a good way. XOXO

    Reply
    • Loads of thanks, Jamie! I think Andy would appreciate this as well. 🙂 I’m glad it moved you. Look forward to getting together with you again soon!

      Reply
  4. I am sending love….

    Reply
  5. He took love, and he gave it so freely. That smile warms my soul. I love you sister.

    Reply
    • simplyblake

       /  March 20, 2013

      Thank you for that, Laura. An unforgettable smile, loads of good memories… really glad that you share some of those with me. 🙂 I love you!

      Reply
  1. Fait Accompli! « simplyblake

Leave a Reply

