Decisions, Decisions

Riddle:  Three crows were sitting on a fence.  One decided to fly away.  How many were left?

Answer:   Three.  The one crow decided to fly away.  Just because we decide to do something doesn’t mean we always follow through.

For the last nine years, I have helped raise funds for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation through participation in the Nashville Great Strides walk.  Last year I considered raising those funds by joining several fellow CFF supporters in our local marathon / half marathon (keyword = considered).

A couple of weeks ago, I started mulling over the idea again and I have come to a decision.  I am going to train for the Country Music Marathon & ½ Marathon which will be held on April 28, 2012.  I have decided; now all I have to do is follow through!

Staying motivated and inspired will be keys to help me make good on my commitment.  Now that I have declared this online, I am certainly motivated.  You readers will help keep me accountable, right?

As for inspiration, there are many sources.  These three were foremost in my mind when I came to my decision:

  1. My brother Andy and the fact that April 24, 2012 will be the 10th anniversary of his passing.
  2. A new CF friend who received a lung transplant this summer will be training for and running in the marathon as well.
  3. Kevin Dwyer, a 38 year old CFer who completed the New York City Marathon on November 6, 2011.  Please take a few minutes to check out his blog.

At this rate, there is no telling how this will go down.  I’m intimidated by the idea but I’m going to put my best foot (or should I say feet?) forward.  Wish me luck and stay tuned!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Suzanne

     /  November 16, 2011

    I know you can do it! I am so proud to be your friend 🙂

    Reply
  2. Blake, you can so do this. I have complete faith in you.

    A few months ago, I started running. When I began, I could only run half a mile before stopping. Now, I can run slightly over two. I’m not trying to toot my own horn — I’m trying to say that anything is possible, once you put your mind to it. For me, good music helps. I put on the new Kelly Clarkson CD, or Florence + the Machine, or even Matt Nathanson’s latest. (Amazon cloudplayer on my cell phone is a wonderful thing.) I started out doing twenty minutes. I walked when I had to. The key is to work your way up. Make sure you hydrate a few hours prior, to avoid cramping. If you find yourself short of breath, breathe in through your nose and then out through your mouth.

    Anyway, I know you didn’t ask for advice; clearly, I cannot help giving it. lol I am very proud of you for choosing to do this. I will be here to cheer you on. 🙂

    Reply
    • Ali, thanks for having faith in me. I’m gonna need it!! 🙂 And I appreciate the advice. Pacing myself and stocking up on good tunes will be absolutely necessary! Thanks for your support!!

      Reply
  3. Hi Blake, like Ali said, work your way up.
    I started running about 4 years ago.
    It was tough for a while, but I have now run 2 half marathons and going for my third next weekend.
    I am sure you can do it. Just one step after another and don’t worry about the clock.

    Reply
    • Hey Shelley! Do you have a specific training regimen you follow? If you do, and you don’t mind sharing, I’d love to see it. Thanks for the encouragement!

      Reply
  4. Hmm, define specific…
    This is sort of what I do, but I make no guarantees.

    So – for general fitness (and fighting all the chocolate I eat) I try to stick to the following:
    Monday – cardio
    Tuesday – strength/conditioning
    Wednesday – cardio
    Thursday – strength/conditioning
    Friday – cardio
    Weekends – rest

    When I am training for a run I try to add in:
    1 or 2 short runs per week (around 6km)
    (Of course this doesn’t always work)

    Plus:
    6 weeks out – 1 medium run: 10-15 kms
    5 weeks out – 1 medium run: 10-12 kms
    4 weeks out – 1 medium run: 10-15 kms
    3 weeks out – 1 long run: 21 kms (half marathon distance)
    2 weeks out – 1 medium run
    1 week out – easy week, maybe just 1 short run to stay warm

    There is another school of thought that says go for time, not distance, in which case I would replace the 10 km runs with 1 hour, 15 with 1.5 hours, 21 kms with 2-2.5 hours.

    Make sure you cool down properly and stretch after every session, drink lots of water.

    My training buddy and I have an agreement when it comes to the race – we aren’t out to beat a particular time or compete with anyone. All we want to do is run the whole way (doesn’t matter how fast or slow we are) and finish.

    Hope this helps – this sort of works for me.

    Reply
    • That’s a great outline, Shelley! I am going into this with the same thought: I just want to run the whole way and finish.

      Reply
  1. Knee Braces, Aspercreme, and Pace Groups! Oh, My! « simplyblake
  2. No One Truly Knows How Hard You Try « simplyblake
  3. Fait Accompli! « simplyblake
  4. Back Into The Groove « simplyblake

Leave a Reply

