A List of Truths

This afternoon I found myself in a surly mood.  If I gave a list of reasons why, one could argue that most of those items were/are trivial.  But, all things being relative, they were reason enough to inspire crankiness and I was acting downright foul.

In an effort to pull myself out of the muck, I decided to search my email for a link my husband sent about a month ago.   It was for a post titled 25 Lessons I Wish I Had Learned WAY Sooner from the blog Demanding Joy.

Each of the 25 points is valid in my book, but these five speak the loudest to me:

  • Life isn’t fair. Most of the time it’s not fair in your favor, so don’t whine about life not being fair.  Enough said.
  • No one knows what you’re thinking unless you tell them.  In the grand scheme of things, one should never assume.
  • You’re stronger than you think you are.  Never doubt it.  NEVER!
  • No education is wasted.  Drink in as many new experiences as you can.  Sometimes we succeed, sometimes we miss the mark.  I prefer to believe that there is no such thing as failure, only feedback.  Don’t let the fear of failure keep you from trying something new.
  • Don’t forget to enjoy your journey! . . . because, as someone I admire recently wrote, “Life is either far too long or far too short to do otherwise.”

I’m pleased to say that my irritability has subsided.  Rereading the list of 25 Lessons certainly helped, but taking the time to share them here was the ultimate balm.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Great post, Blake! Sometimes, we all need to be reminded of these things. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Thanks so much, Ali. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I bookmarked that list when Dude sent it and actually read it yesterday (again, twins separated at birth!). Love the list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

