Oh Henry ! . . . No, I Don’t Mean the Candy Bar

Since I posted about Pinterest (here), I confess that I simply haven’t had time to browse and manage my pinboards. But I do get reminders that keep Pinterest on my radar. These reminders are in the form of emails to notify me that someone has repinned one of my pins. I have several pictures pinned—not a ton, but more than a few—so I find it fascinating that 99% of the repins have been of the same single picture: this divine shot of Henry Cavill taken by Lorenzo Agius for Men’s Health magazine London in 2008.

If you are not familiar with Henry Cavill, he played Charles Brandon in the Showtime series THE TUDORS. He seems well suited to play historical fiction characters, I think. But as much as I appreciate the young man’s looks and talent (and looks), I struggle to think of him as the next Superman (movie due in 2013).  I can imagine him as a Greek hero, however, and look forward to seeing him in IMMORTALS (to be released 11/11/11).

This summer, a picture of Henry was featured in this awesomely awesome blog post by Noa of the Paperback Dolls. I give my deepest thanks to author extraordinaire Deanna Raybourn for providing the link to Noa’s post on her fantabulous blog. Deanna’s character Nicholas Brisbane was featured in the post. Brisbane, dearest Brisbane, is my number one literary crush of all time. Do yourself a favor and read Deanna’s Lady Julia Grey series. You will thank me later. You will.

Okay, back to Henry. When Noa used a picture of Henry to illustrate C.S. Harris’s character Sebastian St. Cyr (another literary object of my affection), I had an Aha! moment: I should find a picture of Henry for the slot on the cover of my Nook . . . something that’ll represent the perfect historical fiction mystery/romance hero. Although I don’t imagine Henry as Brisbane (dearest Brisbane), I do think I hit the jackpot in finding this picture. And, obviously, a slew of fellow Pinterest junkies like the photo as well.

So, what do you think about the Oh Henry photo?  What types of books do you like to read?  Do you have a number one literary crush of all time?

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. So glad you’re blogging–and honored to be mentioned, my dear!

    Reply
    • To see that you commented nearly gave me a fit of the vapors, Deanna. 🙂 I find that I’m battling that Voice of Negation (as one of your chickens so put it the other day) in every step of this blogging journey. I’m kind of fighting my own little version of “imposter syndrome”. I guess as long as I go where the spirit moves me, I’ll be alright. Thank YOU for the inspiration!

      Reply
  2. Reg

     /  October 2, 2011

    What a hottie! I agree with you Blake that he does not remind me of Brisbane but maybe a Sebastian St. Cyr or Mr. Darcy. I wish there was a new Lady Julia book out, sigh! I am reading Jayne Ann Krentz’s Dreamlight Trilogy. Really a fun read, especially since the 3 books take place at different times.

    Reply
    • Dearest Reg 😉 Thanks so much for reading and commenting. We need to get back on the same reading track, girlfriend. Tasha Alexander’s next book, A Crimson Warning, will be out in a few weeks. Let’s plan to read that one together! And then maybe I can catch up to you on the Dreamlight Trilogy. xoxo

      Reply
  3. Reg

     /  October 2, 2011

    I think the blog is great and Wow comments from Deanna Raybourn our Favorite author! I bet you just about passed out when you saw a comment from me the electronic/computer phobic chick, I am trying – Facebook is next! Really everthing you have written so far is great I cant wait to see whats next. Blog on Girl. xo

    Reply
  4. He’s so gorgeous…*swoon*

    Reply
    • Isn’t he?? Did you see Deanna’s comment on Twitter that she thought he would make a good Brisbane in about 10 years? That comment totally reframed the way I look at this picture. So swoon-worthy! 🙂

      Reply
      • He would be a perfect Brisbane in ten years! Although, I’ve always pictured Hugh Jackman in the role, I think. Either one would be divine! I’m excited to see Cavill as Superman. From what I’ve seen on the on-set photos, he looks the part, perfectly.

        Reply
  5. Great photo. I must catch up with some of the books you ladies are reading.
    I’m afraid I am back in Doctor Who novels at the moment (yes, geek alert).
    Literary crush – obviously Mr Darcy! But also Colonel Brandon in Sense and Sensibility, and Sam Vimes in the Discworld novels (Terry Pratchett).

    And Ali – Hugh Jackman is defintiely the man for any part!

    Reply
    • Jamayel, if you like historical mystery/romance, I have several authors to recommend. 🙂 I’m ashamed to admit I have yet to catch Doctor Who. I feel like I am really missing out! Must resolve soon. Ah, Mr. Darcy *sigh*. Although I like Matthew Macfadyen, Colin Firth’s portrayal is my favorite.

      Reply
  6. Uh…what were you saying? Something about Pinterest?!

    Hottie!

    I love Pinterest. I got sucked into it night before last looking at Halloween stuff for an hour. Sad but true! Alan does not understand…

    This reminds me, too, that I enjoyed The Tudors! I didn’t see many episodes, though.

    Reply
    • I know, right? I’d love to cover my bedroom walls with posters of Oh Henry . . . er, if I were a teenager, that is . . . yeah, that’s right . . . a teenager.

      Reply
  7. Henry is my movie boyfriend LOL! Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

