Gooey Peanut Butter Goodness

In addition to coffee and chocolate, I have another daily essential – peanut butter.

Actually, peanut butter was my first food love.   In my kindergarten days, I would have a Pavlovian response every time Sesame Street featured The Amazing Mumford.  With a wave of his wand and the magic words “A la peanut butter sandwiches”, I would crave Creamy Jif on white bread.  Thank goodness I could expect to find some kind of peanut butter sandwich in my Holly Hobbie lunchbox each day!  Most of the time, it would be the standard PB & J.  Occasionally, my mom would switch it up and surprise me with a peanut butter and banana sandwich.  But the absolute best was opening that lunchbox to find the piece de resistance – the Fluffernutter.

The other day my husband was browsing recipes on StumbleUpon.  Like Pinterest is my fascination, StumbleUpon is his.  To our great delight, he came across this delectable and incredibly simple recipe:  Gooey White Chocolate Fluffernutter Cake Bars.  Can you guess what happened next?  Yes!  We raced to the grocery store, got the ingredients, and made those bad boys!  Above is the photographic evidence. They are rich but the peanut butter provides just enough balance to keep them from being too sweet.  I think bite size portions (well, two bites worth) are just right.  Try ‘um and be sure to check out more great recipes at the Picky Palate blog.  You’ll find recipes there that would make Cookie Monster go gonzo . . . get it? . . . Gonzo? (a little joke, Fozzie Bear style.) 🙂

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. This sounds and looks like an excellent addition to the Clemson Crew gatherings!

    Reply
  2. *drools* Holy mother of sweetness. I need to make those. Thanks for sharing, Blake!

    Reply
    • You are quite welcome! I have a hunch that you have some pretty fabulous recipes to share as well. Got one for coffee cake? 😉

      Reply
      • I have yet to make it, but I am in possession of my grandma’s recipe for coffee cake. I will dig it out (I have her card catalog of recipes) and type it up for you. 🙂

        Reply
  1. Peanut Butter, yes ma’am « Princess Alyeska

Leave a Reply

