Who Are You and Why Are You Blogging?

Who are you?

Now that I am a couple of posts into this blogging adventure, I suppose I should buckle down and share a little more than just the nutshell information I offered in my About section.

My name is Blake.  No, Blake Lively isn’t the only female named Blake.  I’m not sure how she got her name but I’ll tell you how I got mine.  I was named after one of my great-great grandmothers.  So, if you think Blake is a rare name for a female now, imagine how unusual it must have been in the late 1800s!

I am married to my college sweetheart.  My husband and I have lived on both coasts and currently reside in my home state of Tennessee.  We have one daughter and two sons.  Each of them is wonderful, vexing, kind-hearted and wacky in their special way.  I suspect my family will provide quite a bit of fodder for this blog!

I am also a sister — and this is where it gets tough.  Do I say I am a sister or I was a sister?  See – my one and only sibling, my  younger brother Andy, passed away almost 10 years ago.  But I don’t say Andy was my brother.  He is and always will be my brother.  And because being his sister has defined who I am in more ways than I probably realize, you can rest assured that Andy will be a part of this new journey.

What else can I tell you? How ‘bout a few random facts:

  • In my bare feet, I’m 6’ 1’’ tall.  No – I didn’t play basketball in college, but I was an excellent benchwarmer on my high school team!
  • I consider myself a “Jane of all trades, Master of none” in that I seem to be able to do lots of things fairly well, but there’s not one thing at which I truly excel.
  • I love to read.  I love to read.  And, oh yeah, I love to read.
  • If you read my previous post, you’ll know that I need coffee and chocolate to survive.
  • I once ate sushi within arm’s reach of Iron Chef Morimoto.  That was a major fangirl moment for me.

Why are you blogging?

This answer will be short and sweet.  As I alluded to in my first post, I’m looking to broaden my horizons.  Maybe it’s because I turned 40 this year.  Maybe it’s because I have stifled my inner artist for too long and feel the need to explore outlets beyond stained glass and acrylic paints.  I guess reasons will be discovered as we roll along.  I am not a writer and I won’t pretend to be.  But I promise to do my best to post things worth taking the time to read.

So if you’ve made it this far with me, I sincerely thank you.  Hopefully you will continue, and even share a bit of yourself with me along the way.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Love this post, Blake! It’s a lot of fun to get some insight into who you are. Also, you do NOT look 40!!

    And now I’m craving sushi. I blame (Credit) you. 😉

    Reply
    • Thanks, Ali, for the compliment on the post AND my appearance. I was still a baby when that picture was taken (last year at age 39). ; ) I’m thinking I should update my profile pic before too long.

      And, hey, I’ll gladly shoulder the blame for a sushi crave! *grin*

      Reply
  2. You most definitely are a writer my friend!

    Reply
  3. Love seeing you blogging my friend! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Awesome Blog. I hated turning 40 too. Makes you realize we are all mortal. At least in real life. In my head I will live forever…lol new follower.

    Reply
    • Why, thank you! And thank for following. As you can tell, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted something new. Stay tuned for more soon. 🙂

      Reply
  1. A Favorite Saying « simplyblake

Leave a Reply

