Coffee and Chocolate – Simple Pleasures?

coffee and chocolate

I believe coffee and chocolate are two of the most satisfying simple pleasures in life.

Oh, who am I trying to kid?  Coffee and chocolate are downright necessities!  Without them I (or someone near me) might perish!

I’m the kind of person whose waking thought is “Coffee.  Must . . . have . . . coffee.”  Each morning I drag my bleary-eyed self to the kitchen to get that sweet elixir of life brewing.  One might think I’d have broken the code by now and simply set the Mr. Coffee right smack on my bedside table, timer activated.  I’d much rather wake to the aroma of freshly brewed coffee than the wretched blare of my alarm clock.

When I first started brewing my own coffee, any old brand would do.  Over the years my tastes have evolved.  My husband says I need to face facts and admit that I have become a food snob.  Pshaw!  If Folgers crystals were my only choice, that would be just fine.  Really.  But when I have the option of purchasing a bag of fresh roasted beans from a local coffee house, why shouldn’t I?

I feel the same way about chocolate (queue my best Homer Simpson impersonation) . . . “Mmmm . . . chocolate.”  In J.K. Rowling’s HARRY POTTER series, chocolate is prescribed to those who have mild encounters with Dementors (dark creatures who feed on human happiness).    How brilliant of Ms. Rowling to use chocolate as a vehicle for helping the depressed victims recover.  Indeed chocolate has magical properties.   As coffee helps clear the morning mental cobwebs, a smidge of velvety smooth chocolate can dash away a dreary afternoon attitude.

Like my taste in coffee has evolved, so has my taste in chocolate.  When I was a kid, every once in awhile my mom would bring home a bag of Hershey’s Assorted Miniatures.  Can you guess which kind was always last to be eaten?  Yep, the Special Dark.  My brother and I very willingly left those chalky, bitter things for dear ol’ dad.  Now, however, dark is my absolute favorite variety of chocolate.  When I really want to indulge, I buzz (heh . . .buzz) down to a wonderful little chocolate boutique where they prepare and dip each precious morsel right there in the shop.  Schakolad’s dark chocolate salted caramels are to die for.

Considering that coffee and chocolate are necessities to me, at the end of the day, it really doesn’t matter if they come from specialty shops or the discount grocery.  Next month when my kids scrunch their faces at the Hershey’s Special Darks within their Halloween loot, rest assured that I’ll be there waiting with one hand out and the other wrapped around a cup of coffee.  And who knows?  That coffee might even be Folgers!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I have been craving chocolate for days — specifically, dark chocolate sea salt caramels. I MIGHT have to remedy this very soon, since I am sorely lacking in chocolate. (Tragedy, I know!)

    Obviously, you’re talking about two things near and dear to my heart. My first thought, too, is COFFFEEEEE. Like a coffee-seeking zombie. I don’t make a whole lot of sense pre-coffee. Trying to have a real conversation is pointless. My absolutely FAVORITE coffee is from a place called Strange Brew (strangebrewcoffee.com). I order it online, and it is honestly the best stuff ever. I’m currently drinking one called Sticky Bun. That and the Pumpkin Spice might be my favorites. Other than that, I drink Maxwell House. 🙂

    Very fun post!

    Reply
    • What was that term Deanna Raybourn used in reply to one of your comments a short while back? Food-enable? Mmmm-yeah. I think I can relate. ; )

      I hope you got your chocolate fix today! You shouldn’t go too long without it, you know. I seem to recall a picture you posted of a Pumpkin Spice Latte. Yum! And Sticky Bun sounds DOUBLE yummy! I must check out Strange Brew! Maxwell House is an old favorite. Currently, I am enjoying a roast from a local coffee shop, Roast, inc. (http://blog.roastinc.com), called Brazil Sweet Blue.

      So glad you liked this post!

      Reply
  2. blake…I have been enjoying your blog. I haven’t been drinking coffee long, but long enough to know that folgers is not so great but not long enough to like anything beyond a light roast very well. I share your love of chocolate and always put a bit of cocoa in my coffee for a mocha! Have you tried a Ritter Sport Dark Chocolate with Hazelnuts? One of my favorites.

    Reply
    • Hey Rachel! Oh, thanks so much for commenting. 🙂 Although I haven’t done much of that myself, know that I greatly appreciate your blog posts (www.ourpilgrimdays.blogspot.com).

      Folgers . . . yeah. Speaks to how desperate I can get. I have seen the Ritter brand and will be sure to put it on my next grocery list! I know we both share an appreciation for Chocolove. What an appropriate name for a brand of chocolate. 🙂 Thank again for commenting. Have a great weekend!

      Reply
  3. I have never succumbed to the coffee addiction (I’m a tea/chai girl), but I can definitely understand the chocolate requirement in life.

    Maybe after my peanut butter/chocolate experiment I will have to try out the best chocolate from around the globe!

    Reply
  4. I’m afraid I’m a coffee ‘ho’ — I’ll go with the cheap stuff, even the illicit, made-with-river-water variety if necessary. I blame my parents and my upbringing. *sniff*

    Reply
  1. Gooey Peanut Butter Goodness « simplyblake
  2. The Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie « simplyblake

Leave a Reply

